A Recipe Variation

When I was a girl, my mom sometimes made breaded pork steaks for supper. She would dip the pork steak in beaten egg and then in flour. It was then fried. These crusty pork steaks came out tender and delicious.

The other day I saw a similar recipe for baked chicken. This recipe had you use crushed french fried onions mixed with a small amount of flour for the coating on chicken breasts which were dipped in egg first. They were baked, not fried.

Today I had an idea … how about using mustard instead of the egg and putting the crushed onions on a pork steak and baking it. I just coated one side of the pork steak and then baked it in my toaster oven for about 45 minutes at 400 degrees.  It wasn’t quite Mom’s breaded pork steak but it was very tasty.

This entry was posted in family, food, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Recipe Variation

  1. fillyjonk says:

    I’ve also successfully used plain yogurt in place of the eggs. It’s particularly good with chicken breast.

Leave a comment