Two Almost Finished Projects

I finished knitting my  “House Sweater” this week.  This is the Sassy Shrug from the September 2006 issue of Creative Knitting magazine. I used Red Heart Super Saver Multi in Candy Print for the sweater since I wanted a sturdy “wear around the house to do housework” garment.

This was an interesting project. It is knit in two pieces from the center out to the cuffs. It is then seamed up the back. I’m not happy with how I did the seam so I’m going to take it out and redo it. But except for that seam and working in the yarn ends, the sweater is complete.

The other almost finished project is the redecorating of my bathroom. I painted the room this week. I think this will be the last time I paint that room. It’s too much climbing around and bending for this aging body. The next time the room gets painted, I will hire someone to do it. Just cleaning up the paint spatters has been a job in itself.

The room is cream color. The tiles around the vanity and the tub/shower area are cream with a kind of gold mottled pattern in them. I found a darling wallpaper border to add just above the tile in both areas.

The borders is about nine inches high. There’s a narrow border of pink on each edge. The pattern within the border is a group of women in Paris in 1920. There are shadowy outlines of various Paris landmarks in the background. Some of the women are wearing hats; a number of them have parasols. Their dresses are blue, green, yellow/gold, or pink. It will make it very easy to change the color of towels and rugs and still have a coordinated room. I just need to mop the floor and this project will be complete.

So that’s the agenda for today … complete these two projects and then move on to some other cleaning project.

This entry was posted in home improvements, Knitting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment