Leg Cramps

I did a bit of research on what causes leg cramps on WebMD. Of the items listed there, the most probable one, for me, was the lack of potassium. I used to take a potassium supplement. But I slacked off probably a month or two ago and I wonder if that’s why that cramp woke me so rudely the other morning. I headed to my stash of pills and resumed my morning potassium pill. So far, so good, no rude awakenings with leg cramps.

This entry was posted in food, health, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leg Cramps

  1. susie says:

    Hmmm, perhaps I need more potassium, especially with our dangerously high temps the past week and projected for this week. A few nights ago I woke with cramps in my thighs, which has never happened before. Then my lower legs (shins and calves) started cramping. I have been drinking Gatorade, but potassium tablets would surely be cheaper! Thanks for this article.

  2. susie says:

    On second thought, I don’t thinks shins can cramp, but they did hurt.

  3. fillyjonk says:

    When it’s hot out cramps can be worse, too, because of dehydration and loss of electrolytes. Luckily I seem to manage to avoid them most of the time. (I eat a lot of fruits and vegetables, including some high in potassium, and I’m careful to drink enough water)

    I like coconut water and often drink it on hot days. I can’t do most Gatorades because of the food coloring in them, and also coconut water has less sodium and less sugar.

    • susie says:

      I haven’t tried coconut water, but you have me thinking I should. Less sodium and sugar, and no food coloring sound very healthy. Thanks for the mention of it.

Leave a Reply

