A Night Out

Last night was a night out.  I went to the Symphony.  The program was one I wasn’t sure I’d like but it turned out to be most enjoyable.

I had another issue with my stomach Friday night but hadn’t had any episodes for most of the afternoon so felt I could chance going to the Symphony.  Traffic was terrible and I didn’t think I’d make it before the concert started.  Thankfully, I got there with just a few minutes to spare and was able to get to my seat before the music started.  The man who normally sits behind me was there; first time I’ve seen him all season.  He was his usual friendly self but we didn’t have time to chat since I was so late.

About mid-way through the Mahler symphony which was the last half of the concert I realized I needed to leave to go to the restroom.  The ushers were so helpful.  They got me a chair so I could watch on the monitor in the lobby … after three trips to the restroom … and then my favorite usher went inside at the end of the concert and retrieved my purse and coat for me.  I just prayed I’d be able to get home before needing the restroom again.  I did.

The soloist for the concert was Susanna Phillips.  I really looked forward to hearing her but, alas and alack, they didn’t have her microphone set up so she could be heard.  I could hear her much better in the lobby watching the monitor.  In the concert hall I began to wonder if I need a hearing aid.  I get ads for one in the mail almost every week.  My experience in the lobby convinced me that her mic was the problem, not my hearing.

 

This entry was posted in music, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Night Out

  1. Kiwi says:

    Good you enjoyed your night out despite it’s problems. Unable to contact you – keep getting this message “was rejected by the server for the recipient domain att.net by scc-mailrelay.att.net. [204.127.208.75].
    The error that the other server returned was:
    550 [SUSPEND] Mailbox currently suspended – Please contact correspondent directly”

Leave a Reply

