Ice Cream Thoughts

I love ice cream.  I have ever since I was a child.  It was a special treat back then.  It had to be eaten on the spot, more or less, when purchased because we only had a tiny little freezer compartment in our refrigerator and couldn’t keep ice cream at home.

When I was in my teens, my family started buying a half gallon of ice cream when we did the weekly grocery shopping.  We’d bring it home from the store and Mom (or Dad, it was an equal opportunity chore) would open the carton and slice it into four pieces.  We’d sit down with our bowl and spoon and enjoy our weekly treat of ice cream.  I don’t remember how we decided on the flavor but I just know that eating ice cream made going grocery shopping worthwhile.

When I was at the grocery the other week, I noticed that something has happened to the ice cream carton.  Even if they look like the familiar half gallon, they’re not really.  A half gallon is two quarts and there are 48 ounces in a quart.  These new ice cream cartons have something like 56 ounces in them.

Why are they messing about with my ice cream?  I noticed the price has stayed about the same so I guess it means more profit for the maker.  But, doggone it, I want my treat left alone.  I don’t slice up a carton into four pieces these days but I don’t need their help in making me diet.

This entry was posted in family, food, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ice Cream Thoughts

  1. Susie says:

    Unless ice cream quarts are different, a quart is 32 ounces. I agree about the smaller cartons. The price hasn’t dropped! I think it is Blue Bell ice cream that is still 1/2 gallon. But we’re going to have to wait awhile for it to be available everywhere.

  2. Susie says:

    Nor mine! I figured out in the sixth grade that I would never be a mathematician, and I’ve never had a reason to change my mind.

Leave a Reply

