Knitting Class

Rather to my surprise, I was scheduled to teach a Kids’ Knitting class on Tuesday.  There was one problem, though.  I was also supposed to be at the dentist at an overlapping time.  Thankfully, I was able to reschedule the dental appointment.

There were two girls in the class.  One was 11 and the other was 8.  The 11-year-old did really well and was a joy to teach.  The younger girl almost immediately decided she didn’t like knitting, it was too hard, etc.  What she really wanted, I think, was to be 11.  I was glad that her mother made a big fuss about what she had accomplished when she came back to pick her up.  She said all the correct encouraging words.  Whether the girl believed them is doubtful.

One thing I found fascinating was that the younger girl persisted in holding her needles the way you see them in cartoons.  My explanation of how to hold them, how to manipulate them, seemed to fell on  deaf ears.  That’s probably why she didn’t do as well as the 11-year-old.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

