Who Knew?

I’ve been concerned about getting my roof replaced.  It’s not leaking.  But I’ve lived in this house 15 years and I’ve no idea how old the roof is.  I know that getting it replaced will have to be done.  So I had a contracter come and give me an estimate.  To say I was shocked is an understatement.  I had no idea that roofs had gotten so expensive.  Of course, the last time I replaced on was probably at least 30 years or more ago and it is inevitable that the price would have gone up.  I just didn’t expect it to have gone up that much.

This is just a normal home maintenance project so my home owner’s insurance isn’t involved.  A number of houses in the subdivision are getting new roofs so I wonder if when the workmen get on the roof they will find some kind of storm damage that insurance would cover.  At least I have good credit and have been approved for a loan to pay for the roof.

Best of all, the roof isn’t leaking.  Given all the rain we’ve had — and continue to have — this year, that is a blessing and I’m grateful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Knew?

  1. Susie says:

    Glad the roof isn’t an issue at present! That is good news.

  2. fillyjonk says:

    I had to have my roof replaced shortly after I bought my house as a condition of having it insured. The existing roof seemed OK to me but the insurer said “We don’t know how old it is.”

    My brother and sister in law had a (metal) roof put on this summer; it was shockingly expensive. I will probably have to replace my roof eventually, and am not looking forward to it. (I have a typical asphalt-shingle roof which doesn’t last as long – and the next re-roof is going to require a tear-off because of the layers)

Leave a Reply

