What Did I See

I was on my way to the bank this morning and off to the side in an empty lot was a camel! I did a sort of double take but it was on the opposite side of the highway and I decided maybe I could get a better look on my way back. My banking taken care of I headed to the pharmacy.

I passed that empty lot again and not only was there a camel in it, there were a few smaller animals as well. I don’t know if they were baby camels or llama. As best I could read the sign, someone had set up a small petting “zoo” in that lot. I don’t know if it was a fundraiser for someone/something but it definitely not a usual occurrence. I wonder where on earth they found those camels.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Did I See

  1. Kiwi says:

    Possibly alpaca as they have become very popular as pets these days. Smaller then llamas and could be mistaken for a baby camel. You will need to go back and have another look!!

  2. Susie says:

    Camels! I find them intriguing and appealing. I have always said that if I am ever disgustingly wealthy, I want to have some of my own.

  3. PA Jeannie says:

    Our annual live Christmas Pageant rents 3 of them from out-of-state for that weekend. There some alpaca farms in the area. Even saw a buffalo south of Helle town.

  4. Mary Ann Powell says:

    When we first moved here to Portland, TN (13 years ago now!), down a winding country road, but not so very far from town, was a farm we named Farmer Brown’s. Every time we went by there would be different animals there – llamas, donkeys, turkeys and yes, a camel and even an ostrich. We thought that maybe it was refuge for hurt or sick animals. Unfortunately, the place is abandoned now.

Leave a Reply

