Deck the Halls

Some people get the holiday decorating fever early. I guess I can’t blame them since the stores do it. There’s one house a couple of streets over which is all decorated with outside lights as is one down the street from me. That just feels like they’re rushing the season to me.

To be honest, I’m having problems with getting ready for Christmas. My nephew’s health issues has cast a pall over the holidays for me. He’s still in the hospital and we don’t know if he’ll even be able to come home in time for Thanksgiving.

I’m seriously thinking of avoiding sending Christmas cards this year if I don’t have an email address for the recipient. Postage has gotten so expensive. A lot of my cards go overseas and I just can’t justify the expense this year. That’s partly because I’m in the “donut hole” on my medical expenses. So if I have an email address, I’ll look up an electronic card I can send this year. (If you want a holiday card from me, send me your email address.)

I still need to do gift shopping. Again my nephew’s illness is partly to blame. We draw names at his birthday dinner normally. We didn’t have that this year because he’s in the hospital. We also exchange our “gift lists” at Thanksgiving and since I don’t know who I’m shopping for … other than the children … I can’t get enthused to go shopping. To be honest, I don’t even have ideas for the children.

I think I’m turning into a Scrooge.

This entry was posted in family, health, holidays, money, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deck the Halls

  1. Susie says:

    You don’t sound like Scrooge to me. You sound concerned about your nephew. Don’t be too hard on yourself–you’ve got more than enough to deal with already. The “donut hole” alone is enough to put the kibosh on any holiday spending. Any chance all of you can agree to tone it ‘way down for this year’s festivities? I suspect all of us are having to tighten our belts again this year.

Leave a Reply

