A Better Day

Today, I’m happy to report, is going better. I feel better for one thing. I’ve managed to get a bit of cleaning done which makes me feel good. I also got some errands accomplished.

One of the errands was a trip to a jeweler I discovered about 10 days ago. I had two watches which needed batteries and one watch which needed a new band. So this morning I went to the jeweler. I was able to get both batteries and was able to replace the band on the other watch. What I wasn’t quite prepared for was how much this cost. The jeweler did not give me an itemized bill so I don’t know what the individual charges were. But it all added up to enough that I almost wished I had just bought a new watch at Wal-Mart. They have some very inexpensive watches and that’s probably what I’ll do when these batteries die.

I also have a clock which needed repair. It was a clock given to me as a service award for ten years of tutoring. When I tried to change the time on it several months ago, the little screw thing you use to do that went flying off and remains lost forever. I thought a jeweler would be able to replace it but she said no, she couldn’t. So I’m disappointed about that.

Next stop on my errands was at Wal-Mart. This is a new-to-me store. I live between it and the one where I usually shop. Since I was in its neighborhood, I decided to check it out. I think it’s a smaller store than my usual one but I was pleased with the things I found there. One thing that Wal-Mart has which mine doesn’t have is fabric. I didn’t take time to explore what was on offer but it’s nice to know that there’s some place where I can buy some if I get back to sewing.

So I came home feeling quite proud of myself.

This entry was posted in fashion, repairs, sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

