What Can I Say?

What can I say in this blog post? Today I’m lost for a topic to write about. There’s always the weather but are you really interested in the weather where I live? Like so much of the country, it’s hot and rainy with thunderstorms.

I could talk about some books I’ve read recently. One, 33 Men by Jonathan Franklin was an interesting read. It was about the Chilean mining disaster a few years ago when 33 men were trapped for weeks and weeks. It covered their survival and rescue. It left me in awe that those men came out of the mine. It was truly a miracle.

The most recent book was Blackberry Pie Murder by Joanne Fluke. I’ve read a number of her books and enjoyed them. This one, however, left me dissatisfied. As implied in the title, there’s a murder in the book. The murder wasn’t what I think of as a real murder because the death came about as the result of an auto accident. The driver ended up in jail for three days before she was arraigned. But the book doesn’t tell us if the case was tried in court. It just seemed to me to end with loose ends that needed tidying away.

I have two more library books to read. I hope they end in a more satisfying manner. What are you reading?

This entry was posted in books, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Can I Say?

  1. Susie says:

    I am reading Jane Eyre. I think I read it in high school. It is a good story, but rather ponderous in the tellng. It must have been written when authors were paid by the word.

    The two things that stood out most to me during the rescue of the 33 miners in Chile were:

    1. The president of the country came there to be on hand for the rescue. He made no secret of the fact that he was praying for the safe rescue of the men.

    2. When the wife of one of the miners found out his mistress insisted on being there at the rescue, she stayed home. He appeared pretty uncomfortable when his mistress greeted him.

    I imagine it all made for a good book.

Leave a Reply

