Why Grape?

I was making a peanut butter sandwich for lunch the other day when a question popped into my mind. Why is peanut butter so often paired with grape jelly? You can even buy jars of peanut butter and grape jelly “stripes” in the grocery. Why grape? I, personally, prefer strawberry or apricot preserves.

What’s your favorite jam or jelly to pair with peanut butter? Why you ever tried raisins as part of the sandwich filling? I’ve tried that and rather like it. Craisins are good too. I bet chocolate chips would be tasty too.

What else can you think to pair with peanut butter?

This entry was posted in food, Ponderings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Grape?

  1. Susie says:

    Sliced bananas are my favorite with peanut butter. I imagine if one added a dollop of Nutella, it would be even better.

  2. Kiwi says:

    Our favourite is to have peanut butter with either Vegemite or Marmite – yummy!

  3. fillyjonk says:

    Back before I developed an intolerance to bananas, I used to like peanut butter and bananas together. It’s also good spread on sliced apple, so I suppose putting apple slices in a PB sandwich would also be good.

    To be honest, I have never cared for peanut butter and jelly. When I was a kid I always wanted plain peanut butter sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

