Ignoring the Phone

Yesterday my phone nearly drove me nuts! It rang repeatedly. However, if I’m at the other end of the house, I can’t get to it before the caller hangs up. Even though I have voice mail on my phone, very seldom does anyone leave a message even though the phone will automatically roll to the voice mail after a set number of rings. Because of this, I mostly refuse to dash to the phone when it rings.

As a result, I get a lot of “missed call” messages on the phone’s screen. Some sort of identify who called … Charity Collection … and I just delete the calls I don’t care to take. The more mystifying ones just list the number which placed the call. Do I recognize it? If I do, then maybe I’ll return the call.

Yesterday I got one of those calls with a number I didn’t recognize. It seemed vaguely familiar so I returned the call. I was glad I had when it was an out-of-town (but in-state) friend who had called to tell me her mother had passed away. The woman passed in her sleep so had a very peaceful passing. She was 103 and, in my mind, her death couldn’t have been totally unexpected. But I don’t suppose that makes it any easier for her daughter. But at least she was spared seeing her mother hooked up to various medical machines and being forced to make the “end of life” decision about when to disconnect them. I should think that would give her comfort.

This entry was posted in health, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ignoring the Phone

  1. Susie says:

    I don’t answer the phone either, when I don’t recognize the number. Last week I had an interesting message on my answering machine. It was a fellow calling himself Sebastian. He was calling to inform me I owed money to the IRS, and I needed to call another number (not the one he called on) immediately. Otherwise, the county sheriff was coming right then to arrest me. The helpful fellow called twice with the same message. I’m still waiting for the sheriff. Should I bring my toothbrush?

Leave a Reply

