Change of Plans

I’ve had a change of plans for today. I received a jury summons to be served in the county seat some 40 or so miles from where I live. So I expected to get up early and have a short drive in the “country” through rolling green hills before doing my civic duty. The summons instructed me to call for a recorded message the night before I was due to come to see if the case was still on. I called. No, “my” case would not be heard today. So unless I just want to go for a drive today, I’ll be staying home with the laundry and Harriet Housewife chores.

The summons was for two days so I suppose I’d better call that number again this evening so I can make plans for tomorrow. I think it would be unusual to start a case on Friday but stranger things have happened. I’ve lived in this county for about 15 years and this is the first time I’ve been summoned to jury duty. When I lived in the city, I got summoned every two or three years. I’m thinking this must be a different kind of jury — or they do things really different in this county — since I’ve already received a summons for two days in June. My period of service is the months of May and June.

Have you ever served on a jury? Did you enjoy it? Was it a civil or criminal case?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change of Plans

  1. fillyjonk says:

    I got called but never served. At that time, the term-of-service was 3 months (!). I was expected to call in each night before to see if I was needed the next day. (I was teaching summer school at the time, so it was kind of complicated). They only called me in two days; one day the guy plead out at the last minute (so we were dismissed after about 1/2 hour) and the second time my number wasn’t drawn.

    I think they changed things so the term of service is a lot shorter now, which I think is good.

Leave a Reply

