Something Else to Ponder

While my head was whirling last week, I had to reschedule my appointment to have my knees shot. That appointment is tomorrow. Today I got a phone call from the doctor’s office reminding me of my appointment.

That made me realize that nowadays most of my doctors/dentist, etc., all call to remind me of my appointments. When did this become a common practice? Do they call all their patients or only the ones they think are getting old and forgetful? My dentist goes so far as to send a post card reminder several weeks before the appointment and then calls a day or two before.

I guess it’s a matter of income for them. Visiting your doctor can be pretty pricey and if very many patients forgot to keep their appointments, the doctor’s income would definitely suffer. Or maybe it’s the insurance companies who are pushing for this procedure.

Something else to ponder.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something Else to Ponder

  1. fillyjonk says:

    My doctors and dentist all call on the phone. (My dentist also sends a reminder card about a week before). I like that because I am busy and sometimes I might forget….or forget the exact time. I don’t know when it began but I remember one of my doctors calling me the day before my appointment at least 10 or 12 years back.

    My dentist also includes with the phone message a request that if you can’t make the appointment, can you please call them ASAP. I know I benefited at least once (on an emergency basis) from someone cancelling at the last minute. I think practices that are busy (I know my dentist has a LOT of patients) are even more concerned with making sure there’s no downtime, because there might be people wanting to be seen on an emergency basis.

  2. Susie says:

    My eye guy does that. I think it’s a great idea, also.

Leave a Reply

