Wimping Out

The Ladies Who Lunch are going out today. They plan to visit The Old Spaghetti Factory which is downtown (about 20 miles from me). I really like that restaurant and had planned to go with them. But I’m wimping out. I’ve had a miserable pain-filled night and just don’t think I’m up to a day out having “fun.”

My legs continue to give me problems. I saw my doctor yesterday and she thinks it’s time to consult an orthopedist. So I left her office equipped with a referral to one. I’m a little scared about it. I don’t want to be told I need knee replacement surgery. She didn’t mention anything so drastic. Her suggestion was some shots of some kind. So, come Monday, I’ll call and see if I can get an appointment.

What am I going to do since I’m not out having fun? I’m thinking maybe I should consider doing the laundry. That should be entertaining.

I’ve thought of another one of Mom’s recipes. It’s for a summer salad. I’d almost call this a quick pickle. At any rate, she’d slice up some tomatoes, cucumber, and onions. A splash of vinegar (cider vinegar) in a glass mixed with water, salt and pepper was poured over the vegetables. This was stirred and left to sit for a few hours. Yummy! Sometimes if she had it a green pepper would be added. Quantities of the vegetables depended on what she had but the goal was sort of equal amounts of each.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wimping Out

  1. Mary Ann Powell says:

    Are you sure there wasn’t supposed to be a tad of sugar added to the dressing? We often had it when I was growing up and I think I remember a little sugar to offset the vnegar.

Leave a Reply

