Aging in Place

Back in February I celebrated one of those “important” birthdays. I’ve been feeling aged ever since. I must be starting to look like that as well.

Friday day brought this home to me. Before going to the travelogue, I stopped by the church to attend a small reception we were having for a couple who were married recently in Florida. It was to be a dessert buffet and I had been asked to provide a dessert. I baked a pineapple upside down cake. So there I was, carrying the cake and my wedding gift battling against a cold wind to get in the church.

That kind of weather and effort will trigger a sort of asthma so I was having great difficulty breathing when I got to the fellowship hall. One woman immediately came over and asked if I was all right. Did I need a chair? What could she do? What she could do was take that blasted cake and put it on the buffet table and leave me to catch my breath. But no, she insisted on patting my back, getting me a chair, asking if I wanted the pastor to come pray, etc.

Eventually I got my chair … and my breath … and the evening progressed. When it was time to get a dessert, I selected a piece of carrot cake because my cake was back in the kitchen and not on the buffet. My helpful woman came over and asked what I would like to drink. Later, I had barely finished my cake when another woman wanted to know if she could take my plate. Did I look to frail to hold it? Later she asked if she could get me a refill on my drink. Never have I had so many people fussing around me.

Sunday when I was leaving the church there were three young boys, maybe 10 or 12, hanging around the door. One was right in the middle of the doorway so you could not get around him. I was about to say something to him when one of the boys saw me and told the boy to “get out of the way. The elderly want out.” Oh, my, now I’m one of the “elderly.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aging in Place

  1. Susie says:

    According to a notice I read recently at a nursing home (visiting, not in residence), the “elderly” are people aged 65 and older. I think elderly is 90+. And should I be blessed to see 90, I will doubtless decide it is still middle age. It’s all subjective. When I went to work at 18, I felt sorry for a lady in my office because she was so old. She was 26.

  2. Susie says:

    Re yesterday’s comment–Is the word “relative” instead of “subjective”? I have wondered ever since I posted. Or maybe it’s another word entirely.

Leave a Reply

