Travelogue of Southern Europe

Last night was the monthly travelogue at one of the local universities. It was a long program but I didn’t know that until the speaker started talking, explaining he was adding sections to the film. I should have guessed that when I arrived and the guests from the first showing were just leaving. Traffic in the parking garage was the worst it’s ever been. But I did manage to avoid hitting all the pedestrians on crutches, canes, and walkers who weren’t paying attention and the cars pulling out of their parking spots in some odd fashions.

The program was advertised as being on Southern Europe. Just where is that? It turned out to be parts of France, parts of Spain and Portugal, some of Italy and ending in Istanbul.

It’s always interesting to see how the lecturer puts his program together. The man last night was a pretty good photographer but he concentrated his photos on cathedrals and palaces, especially the ceilings of cathedrals. There were some interesting shots of people … sometimes people who just walked in front of his camera … but he didn’t say anything about them, didn’t engage them in conversation. He also took shots of various plates of food and the open air food markets.

Another interesting aspect of the evening was seeing photos of some places I’ve actually been. That doesn’t happen very often. But I have been to Lisbon, Granada and Seville. I recognized a few of the places he showed us but I remember other places that he ignored. I had to wonder why.

All in all, it was an interesting evening and I’m glad I went.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

