Election Night Thoughts

Tooday I worked as an election judge. The day got off to a rough start because my alarm didn’t go off. Fortunately, Mother Nature nudged me and I got up at 4:35 instead of 4:00 a.m. It was a mad scramble but thanks to prep work done yesterday, I made it out the door shortly before 5:00 a.m. and headed for the polls. I might have been a minute or two late but someone else drove up while I was walking in so no one chastised me about my arrival time.

We had been told to expect a very busy day. That isn’t quite what happened. We were swamped from 6:00 a.m. until about 8:30. After that the number of voters dwindled to a trickle. Still, thanks mostly to that early morning rush, we had over 2200 voters in our poll.

As I watched the voters come in, I realized that obesity really is a problem in this country. I’m not the smallest person in the world — nor am I the biggest — but there were a number of people with severe weight issues who came to vote today. I had to admire other voters who hobbled in on walkers or in wheelchairs to vote. I admire their not taking the easy way out and skipping the election. On top of that, we had the highest number of “curb-side voters” that I can ever remember.

Best of all, when we did the accounting after the polls closed, we balanced. People worked with a will and got the voting booths down in record time and we were able to leave at 7:30 p.m. I was stunned we accomplished that.

Right now, I’m listening to the election returns with half an ear. One result which makes me very happy is the defeat of a Senate candidate who made inappropriate remarks about rape.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Election Night Thoughts

  1. Mary Ann Powell says:

    We went to vote when Art got home from work, about 1:30 in the afternoon. Thought it would not be very busy at that time. How mistaken I was! We waited an hour and 45 minutes to vote, and, when we left, the wait time was 2 hours. Just before we left the house, I noticed a comment on Facebook about the lengthy waiting time. I knew that I could never stand in line for that long. Art saved the day be bringing his short-wave radios. He stood in line and I waited in the car – he called me just before he got to the desk. Worked out great!

Leave a Reply

