Blog Comments

Do you read the comments on blog posts? I do … not every time but if I really liked the post or if it raised a question I’d like to know the answer to, I click on the comments and read them. They can be very interesting. Depending on the comment, you can also find new-to-you blogs to read that way.

It is said that to increase the readership of your own blog, you should leave comments on other blogs. I do that, too. Not every day and not on every post but occasionally I add my two cents worth to the discussion. Lately, though, I’ve noticed that my comments don’t always get posted. I wonder why. In one instance, in the past the blogger even sent me an email in response to my comment. But the last few comments I’ve left on her blog don’t appear. All I’m left to conclude is that somehow my comments offend her.

I’m sad to say that I’m not always able to add my comment if the blog has one of those programs where you have to type in words to authenticate yourself.  I can’t always read what I’m expected to type.  That makes me sad.  I also wonder why the words/numbers, etc. have to be so fuzzy.  Wouldn’t it be just as effective to have them appear in clear letters?  I suppose not because if you could clearly read them and type them, then it wouldn’t sort out the “undesirable” writers.

Do you leave blog comments? Do they always get posted?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog Comments

  1. Susie says:

    I think all but one or two of my comments have been posted. Don’t know why those weren’t. I don’t find the letters to “authenticate that you’re a real person” to be particularly fuzzy, but they are often very hard to read. If they were placed normally it wouldn’t be so bad, but they tip them and jam them together, and sometimes it’s impossible to read them.

  2. fillyjonk says:

    For some reason, your comments wind up in the “spam” file on my blogspot site. I can go in and retrieve them and post them, but I have to think to look for them. Though lately I have been getting e-mail notifications of them so I know.

  3. fillyjonk says:

    I suppose I can turn the “captcha” words off again on mine. It’s just that for a while I was getting SO many spam comments – like 60 a day – and it was a pain to have to wade through them looking for “real” comments. I kind of hate the captcha words too, they’re not always easy to read.

Leave a Reply

