Garage Sale Questions

Today is a big subdivision garage sale. I received notification of it too late to participate and I haven’t been out looking at what was on offer.

I’ve never been a big garage sale shopper. For one thing, most sales start much earlier than I want to get up on a Saturday. For example, the participants in the sale today had to have their stuff out by 7 a.m. Yikes!

But as I thought about the sale, I began to wonder what I could put out IF I wanted to participate. The only thing I could think of was books. I’m a voracious reader. I have tons of books. Some I’ve had for many years. I occasionally go back and re-read favorite authors.  But I’m being buried under all these books. I do sometimes donate some to a charity when it’s collecting items.

So if I wanted to participate in the next subdivision garage sale, do you think I’d have any customers if I stacked up a batch of books on a table in the driveway? Would I need to organize them by category?  I also have lots of magazines I could add for variety on the table. What kind of pricing should I set?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garage Sale Questions

  1. Susie says:

    If I were browsing through your books, I would much rather tackle them side by side rather than in a stack. I personally don’t think you should put too much effort into categorizing them, unless they’re already separated by category. Magazines might be easier. As for pricing, look around before then to see what the going rate is. Any that don’t sell, donate. You’ll likely not want to be hauling them around much. I LOVE to see lots of books in garage sales. I always look to see what’s there.

  2. Mimi says:

    I bet you’d have a lot of book dealers, especially if books were mentioned in the ad. Common pricing where I live is 50 cents for hardbacks and a quarter for paperbacks, but if you have some especially nice hardbacks, you could make them $1 (or even more). After the initial rush of customers, you might as well drop the price if you don’t want to be left with a lot of the books you put out. You can donate the leftovers to Goodwill or somewhere. People love to denigrate dealers, but they will buy your stuff if it’s good. Don’t put the books out the night before–the dew will ruin them! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

