Maybe It’s Laura’s Fault

I’ve been teaching knitting at Joann’s for about a year. I’ve been rather surprised at the number of young girls in the 8 to 10 year old group who have taken my class. I’ve wondered what has sparked their interest

Today I think I may have gained a clue. The young girl who was my student today said she had been watching a lot of Little House on the Prairie movies and there’s someone in them who knits who doesn’t have to look at her work. It’s been too many years since I read the books and I’ve never seen the movies so I don’t know who this knitter might be. But I think Laura is the inspiration for my beginning knitters.

This little girl was cute. She was a bit of a chatterbox and I enjoyed her conversation. It’s not often I get to spend time with girls that age. She told me she thinks it’s better to learn to knit and sew when you’re young because it’s easier then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maybe It’s Laura’s Fault

  1. fillyjonk says:

    Mary, maybe? Laura’s sister Mary went blind from some illness (scarlet fever? I can’t remember now) and I remember she could sew without seeing, so maybe she could knit, too….(I do remember Laura knit. She knit a huge length of lace that she wound up giving to Mary as a gift, so she could put it on a petticoat to wear when she went to the College for the Blind).

Leave a Reply

