My Summer Vacation

Have you taken a summer vacation this year? Where did you go? What did you see? Did you drive or fly?

I’m taking a gas-saving vacation. I’ve been wandering around following Father Tim in Jan Karon’s Mitford books. Jan is one of my favorite authors and I think I have most of her books. I’ve been re-reading them in sequence.

What a good time I’ve had there in the mountains of western North Carolina and down to an island off the coast. Currently I’m house-sitting on a farm with Father Tim and Cynthia. Renewing old acquaintances with the many wonderful characters in these books.

Yes, this has been a wonderful summer vacation … didn’t have to pack a suitcase, didn’t have to drive anywhere, didn’t have to sleep in strange beds, had no post cards to send. Just had to close each book feeling refreshed in spirit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Summer Vacation

  1. Susie says:

    I consider that the perfect vacation. Just giving yourself permission to do nothing at all but what you wish is so liberating. After a few days, it’s nice to get back into the usual routine. Great idea!

  2. Mary Ann Powell says:

    I, too, enjoy the Father Tim and Cynthia books and am looking forward to rereading them – er, hopefully. My “want to read” list gets longer every day! If you’ve moved far from family and friends as we did, most vacations are going home to visit, which is what we did this month. I call it our semi-annual trip to visit 100 people in 10 days – a slight exaggeration, but not much.

Leave a Reply

