Annoying Phone Call

Am I the only one who gets annoyed by phone calls from a charity. The calls always start out, “This is not a request for a donation.” But the caller proceeds to ask me to mail some number of letters for them.

Don’t they consider the cost of the postage stamps a donation on my part? They are asking for a donation … of stamps and my time and I’m sure they expect me to send some dollars to them as well.

This lack of understanding annoys me to no end.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Annoying Phone Call

  1. Susie says:

    Oh, they understand. They just don’t care. I pretty much just don’t answer calls from numbers I don’t recognize. What is even more infuriating is telemarketing calls to my cell phone. Even if I don’t answer them, sometimes they leave voice mails. Of course, if you access the message, you use up minutes. For those who have unlimited calling, it’s not going to cost them anything. And it’s the same with text messaging. You get charged for them whether you open them or not. It is particularly grinding to pay for all that.

  2. fillyjonk says:

    They’re trying to convince people it’s not a donation to get people to do it.

    I did the send-out-requests for March of Dimes once. Got zero response. No one wanted to contribute. So from then on – after the trouble of hand-addressing the envelopes and buying the stamps. So now I say no to those kinds of requests. I’ll still donate money to certain charities, but my time is more valuable and I can better spend it doing volunteer work at church or something.

    Fortunately, most of the “charities” that call me up are places I know nothing about, and I always say that I’m sorry, I won’t give money to any group without checking them out first. I’m polite but if they do persist I quietly hang up the phone and go about my business.

  3. Mary Ann Powell says:

    Ii’m with Susie – I don’t answer calls from numbers I don’t recognize and invariably these calls fail to leave a message. All the more reason not to answer. We get calls all the time from 800 numbers and out-of-state or “private” callers etc. and we did sign up with the “Do not call” registry but don’t feel that has much impact anymore.

Leave a Reply

