Determined

Yesterday I had a knitting class at Joanns. This was a sock knitting class. I only had one student. This particular student is determined to be a knitter. She has taken several classes with me: basic learn to knit, a stitch of the month, two different scarf classes and now she wanted to learn to knit socks.

Sock knitting, in my opinion, is not something a beginner knitter would normally attempt. But she was game and worked diligently on her sock. This was the first time she had used double pointed needles. She wasn’t fond of that at all and had some struggles in the beginning. But by the time the class was over, she was getting comfortable with them.

It is her determination, I think, that I most admire. As she attempted several new-to-her things, she kept saying, “I’ll get it, I’ll get it.” I’ve every confidence she will.

I thought about that determination to master a new skill. If I would adopt her attitude when faced with something new, I’d be more successful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

