Neighborhood Recycling

We have a practice in my neighborhood that always amuses me. I call it neighborhood recycling.

If you have an item you no longer want and you don’t want to pay someone to haul it away, you set it out at the end of your driveway. Almost before you can turn around, someone will have stopped and picked it up.

I was cleaning out part of my garage this week so I would be able to store some things for my nephew. There was a plant stand that I hadn’t used in years and years. There didn’t seem to be a good place for it in this house. That coupled with my lack of a green thumb made the plant stand an extra that I could get rid of. So out on the curb it went.

I never saw who stopped for it. But probably within 30 minutes of it being placed out on the curb, it was gone. Neighborhood recycling at work once again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Neighborhood Recycling

  1. Susie says:

    Our former home in another city was recycle heaven. We could put anything out, and sometimes even before we got back into the house, the item was gone. The funniest was an old commode. Someone took the bowl, but no one touched the tank. We had to dispose of that ourselves. It was really convenient getting rid of things, though. I do miss that perk.

Leave a Reply

