Snow Came and Went

The first snow of this winter has come and gone. It was a bit of a surprise to wake up Tuesday morning to an inch of snow on the ground. Of course, by afternoon it was gone.

I’m not really sure why I was so surprised. After all, when I left the Joanns store on Monday after teaching a knitting class, I was bombarded by tiny beads of sleet. However, that turned to rain by a half hour later. Instead of the snow meaning winter had really come, it was just a sample of winter. The temps have warmed up and we’re to have a New Year’s holiday in the 50s. The First Night party-goers will be happy about that!

Do you have a First Night celebration where you are? I don’t plan to attend the one in St. Louis. I remember going one year when the event was first getting organized and nearly freezing myself to death. I had a house guest who wanted to celebrate the New Year (something I tend to avoid) so we went. One other year I went but didn’t find that much enjoyment in it. At the moment, I’m not sure what I’ll do on New Year’s Eve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

