Pinch Hitter Knit Teacher

Given that the local baseball team is playing in the World Series, it’s no wonder folks conversation is full of baseball terms. But I think the term pinch hitter fits me.

Tuesday night about 5:30 I got a call from JoAnn’s where I’m one of the knitting instructors. The store manager was on the phone asking if I could help them out — again. One of the other teachers had a Kids’ Knitting class scheduled for that evening but hadn’t shown up. They weren’t able to reach him. Would I consider coming in and taking the class?

So there I was about a half hour later teaching three little girls, a mother, and a grandmother how to knit. Two of the girls, the mother and grandmother were all one family. Grandmother and Mother caught on pretty well, Mother especially. Their two little girls struggled but I feel confident that Mother will be able to help them. The other little girl (and her aunt) did really well.

This is the second time I’ve been called in to cover one of this teacher’s classes. He has another one scheduled for Friday morning and they’ve already asked me to come teach it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

