The Sound of Silence

Most of the time I have the radio playing when I am at home. Occasionally I’m really listening to a program but mostly the radio is just providing background noise. The other day, for who knows what reason, I didn’t turn the radio on. It was so peaceful and pleasant to just have a time of quiet.

Then I went outside and realized that I couldn’t hear the cicada choir singing. Evidently their brief aboveground life is over for this time and they’ve gone back underground for the next 13 years. Inside of their singing, the yard is covered with the tips of tree branches, cut from the trees by the cicadas who have ridden them down to the ground so they can burrow in and make their home there. The absence of their noise is a very welcome relief.

The other day when my sister and brother-in-law were here installing my mailbox, they commented on the amount of traffic that uses my street. I didn’t think of it at the time but they were here right when people coming home from work were using the street to get to their homes. Today when I went out in the middle of the day to get my mail, there was almost no traffic and the neighborhood was quiet.

What a blessing quietness can be. I suspect a lot of our stress would be relieved if we could only have periods of quiet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sound of Silence

  1. Mary Ann Powell says:

    I agree – most days when Art is at work, I am in quiet the entire time. I have loads of CDs to listen to and I like them, but I like the quiet better!

Leave a Reply

