Grocery Store Shock

I normally only do a major grocery shop once a month. This month I delayed going to the store. I was planning to host a dinner to celebrate some family birthdays later in the month and thought I’d wait until close to then to get what I needed for that dinner. Being sick for almost two weeks now with this annoying bronchitis wiped going to the grocery quite out of my mind.

But it occurred to me Thursday that I needed to gather up whatever strength I could find and go shopping. My cupboards were getting bare. So gathering up my environmentally friendly grocery bags, I set off to the store, armed with a grocery list.

As I started through the store, I reached for my list. I couldn’t find it. It wasn’t in my purse … at least not obviously in my purse … and it wasn’t in a pocket. Only one thing to do then … go through the store and hope I could remember what I needed. I’m still not sure I got everything that was on the list.

What I did get was a shock when I got to the meat counter. Why has meat gotten so expensive? Careful shopping for bargains wasn’t much help because there didn’t seem to be any bargains around. I did the best I could, thankful that I was not hosting that dinner party after all.

I do not understand economics. I can sort of understand why gasoline has gone up given the situation in the mideast. But why has the price of beef and chicken and pork gone up? Becoming a vegetarian doesn’t seem like a good alternative; vegetable prices are high too which is to be expected since most of them have to be imported — transportation costs again — at this time of year.

Maybe this will be the year I lose weight. If I can’t afford to buy food, I won’t eat it and gain weight.

This entry was posted in food, money, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grocery Store Shock

  1. fillyjonk says:

    I expect food is going up because the cost of transporting it has gone up. Also the cost of producing it, as farmers have to use gas or diesel to run combines and such.

    And corn has gone up, in part thanks to ethanol.

    It’s kind of like The House that Jack Built: the price of one thing involved in production/transportation goes up, the price of everything goes up.

    Though in some cases I wonder if stores are increasing prices on certain items. I saw $5 a pound “name brand” butter the other day, and the “store brand” was still $3.79 or so a pound.

Leave a Reply

