A Puzzlement

In my circle of friends, we tend to go to Sunday lunch to celebrates each other’s birthday. Two of us will soon have a birthday. The member who organizes the lunches is trying to work out when the next celebration can be. The two upcoming birthdays are about two weeks apart so the thinking is to let one lunch serve to celebrate both of them.

Sunday night she was talking to the two celebrants. One of them keeps saying, “Do I have to have a birthday? I don’t want to celebrate.” I responded that she could celebrate the other birthday or she could celebrate the anniversary of a younger birthday if it’s the age that is making her want to avoid a celebration. Neither idea was readily accepted.

Why would she want to avoid celebrating her birthday? Is it that she doesn’t want to be the center of attention? She won’t be. There will be another woman sharing the spotlight with her.

I know some people are really sensitive about others knowing how old they are. My thinking is that you should always celebrate your birthday. At least you are here to celebrate! To me, your birthday is the one day that is specifically yours to celebrate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Puzzlement

  1. fillyjonk says:

    Some people are just like that, I guess. I’d jump at the chance to get to go out with someone and celebrate our birthdays together. (I could understand the not-wanting-to-be-the-center-of-attention, though. I ask people when they take me out for my birthday not to have the waitstaff come and do the “birthday song” or whatever because it does make me self-conscious)

    I suppose some women are still sensitive about their age (though in this day and age, I don’t think anyone should be; it’s not like we have expiration dates). Also, a birthday could be seen as a day to celebrate things you learned in the previous year, or good things that happened, or good habits you developed (or bad habits you gave up)…

Leave a Reply

