Trip Through the Rocky Mountains

Last night was the monthly travelogue at Washington University. The program was on an RV tour through the Rocky Mountains, starting in Nevada and ending in Yellowstone National Park. Along the way, we stopped in lots of other national parks, some of which I had never heard of.

The photographer on this trip was an excellent wildlife photographer as well as a travel photographer. He had great close-ups of flowers and the animals. He has a wicked sense of humor, too, which added to my enjoyment. One series of shots were of some children who were trying to climb an almost vertical cliff in order to feed a marmot. The photographer pointed out that the park service cautions against feeding the animals. But the kicker of his remarks was when he said his respect for the marmot increased when he saw it wouldn’t eat processed cheese either. Sure enough, the little boy was holding out a slice of cheese to the marmot.

When I got in the car to go home, I was delighted to hear an interview with Elaine Viets. Evidently she was in town for a book signing for her new mystery which is set in this area. I wish I had known about it. I would have gone if I had. Oh, well, at least I got to hear about half the interview on the radio.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

