Felted Scarves

Last night was the Knitters’ Guild’s reception which is part of a weekend of workshops. The guest teacher this time is Judy Pascale.

What a livewire of a teacher! I’ve never taken a class with her but I don’t know that I could keep up with her. She talks fast, moves fast, and covers a lot of material in a very short time.

Last night her topic was felted scarves. When the reception was announced to the Guild, the topic was said to be felted bowls and while I don’t know that I would ever want to make one, I thought I’d go to the reception and learn about them. That being the case, I’m sure you can appreciate my confusion when she started talking about and showing scarves.

I would have thought a felted scarf would be stiff but hers were very drapeable. She starts with a silk scarf and wet felts pieces of roving or other silk to it. It can be embellished with beads which are added as part of the felting process.

Since she teaches classes in this topic at Stitches, she gave us a broad overview … enough information to whet your appetite for taking her class. It was a most interesting presentation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

