Time To Be Counted

This is the year the U.S. does the census. It was suggested to me that I might like being a census worker. So I called the regional census office and made an appointment to take the test.

I was a bit taken aback when I got there and discovered I was the only person to take the test. You would think in this period of high unemployment, more people would be trying for this admittedly part-time temporary job. Still the pay is respectable and would be better than nothing. Yet, there I was in my lonely splendor taking the test.

The test brought make memories of achievement tests in school. A test booklet with the questions and an answer sheet with circles to be filled in were given to me. There were only 28 questions but they were divided into five sections covering things like math skills, organizational skills, problem solving, etc. It’s been many years since I’ve taken such a test. I believe the authors of some of those questions are diabolical.

The test administrator scored the test right away and gave me my score. I missed five questions which would have garnered a B if this were in school. I was a little surprised that I did so poorly and wonder if I eliminated myself from consideration as an employee. Oh, well, nothing ventured, nothing gained. The actual census doesn’t start until April so I guess I’ll just wait and see if I hear from them.

But it is very important that everyone who lives in the U.S. responds to the census and answers the questions. Congressional districts are drawn based on population patterns determined by the census. The number of congressional representatives are determined by the census figures. Monies distributed to states and counties are based on the figures in the census. So, when you get your census form, fill it out. Stand up and be counted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

