Time to Start Celebrating Christmas

Since today is the first of December, it’s time to start celebrating Christmas. This means I’ll get out the wreath for the door, put up the small Christmas tree, put up the felt tree for incoming Christmas cards, think about writing my annual year-end letter, and work on my outgoing Christmas cards. I also need to wrap and mail a couple of Christmas gifts. Gifts for the family also need to be wrapped … once I finish purchasing them.

I “Christmas shop” all year, picking up things I think will make a nice gift throughout the year. So I need to take an inventory of the gift closet and see what I still need to purchase. I think I’m rather thin in the stocking stuffer category so a visit to Dollar Tree will be coming up shortly.

Various concerts are starting up this week too. Tonight there’s one at Jefferson College but I think I need to skip that one since my schedule is pretty full already this week. Thursday night is the Ladies Ministry party at church. Instead of having a gift exchange, we’re to bring items which will be sent to a children’s home. The list on the bulletin board suggests mostly personal hygiene type things. I guess those items are always in short supply in a children’s home.

Friday is the monthly travelogue and then Saturday I’m going to the first of the holiday concerts at the Symphony Hall.

Yes, it’s time to start celebrating. Do you have special things planned to celebrate — things to cook/bake, places to visit, music to listen to?  Do you have special family traditions for this time of year?

This entry was posted in holidays, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

