Post Thanksgiving Activity

I know that it is a tradition in some families to go shopping on the day after Thanksgiving. That’s never really been mine but I did venture out yesterday afternoon. There is no bargain in the world that would get me to stand in lines at night to get in a store either at midnight or very early the next day. But by afternoon the frenzy usually has died down so I ventured out.

In my family we trade Christmas lists (suggestions of what we’d like to find under the tree) at Thanksgiving. My younger nephew had given me a long list of books and some DVDs from Amazon.com. I knew Borders was having a sale and preferred to buy locally so off I went to Borders. I was so pleased to be able to buy two of his items and one was on sale for slightly more than half price!

I spent the early part of the day hooking up the printer to my new computer. Discovered I needed a USB cable to complete that job so a visit to Best Buy was necessary. That store seemed a little busier than Borders had been but still there were plenty of sales help available to answer questions.

Other people use this weekend to do their holiday decorating. I’ve given passing thought to it but will delay that for another few days, maybe even until next weekend if I don’t cave in to neighborhood peer pressure. I don’t do outside lights but if I did, today would be the day to hang them. The temperatures is in the 60s and the sun is shining. I should imagine that even if you hadn’t planned to put up your outside lights today, the weather might convince you to do it before the rain and colder weather which has been forecast for a few days from now arrives.

You know, if you don’t participate in the shopping frenzy, this long weekend in early winter is a real blessing. It can be a time to reflect and catch your breath before plunging into the whirlwind of social activities leading up to Christmas.

This entry was posted in holidays, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post Thanksgiving Activity

  1. Jessica says:

    I agree – a blessing 🙂

  2. fillyjonk says:

    I decided a long time ago that “Black Friday” deals were not worth the sacrifice of my goodwill and Christmas spirit. (I do not like crowds, I do not like being pushed, I do not like being around people whose only goal is to get the one particular “deal” item, and who will be angry/disappointed if they do not).

    Likewise, I avoid the “after Christmas sales,” except, perhaps, at some of the smaller local shops.

  3. Susie says:

    I was careful to avoid Christmas shopping on Black Friday! Horrors! Not even tempted.

Leave a Reply

