Good Customer Service

Sunday I stopped at the Borders store on my way home from church. I had $5 in Borders Bucks and a coupon for 50% off a second item. I had seen an item that I thought might be a good Christmas present for my niece and I knew I could always find a book.

Then I had a flash of inspiration. Kate Jacobs will be in town tonight for a book signing which is being co-sponsored by the Knitters’ Guild and a local yarn shop. I could get a copy of her book. The book signing is going to be held at the local library where the Knitters’ Guild meets. You can’t exchange money at the library so I’m not sure exactly how they will facilitate sales of her book. I don’t have to worry about that since I now have a copy. I just have to remember to take it with me!

As I was looking for the book, a clerk who usually works in the cafe when our knitting group meets there came up to me, called me by name and asked if she could help. She located the books I was interested in. One of the managers also got involved in setting up a display of the Kate Jacobs book and we briefly talked about the book signing.

As it happened, when I got to the register to pay, this manager was on duty there. I don’t know what happened but somehow the sale didn’t ring up correctly and he had to void it and do it over. When he finally completed the transaction, he apologized for the inconvenience and offered me a free cup of coffee to make up for it. We walked to the cafe where he told the clerk I was to have any coffee I wanted on the house. Wasn’t that nice of him? I ended up selecting a Sugar and Spice latte which was delicious.

I don’t know what part the fact that I’m at Borders every week for the knitting group played in what happened Sunday. But I do know that was good — I would almost say exceptional — customer service.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Customer Service

  1. ray says:

    kudos, to you and the manager.

Leave a Reply

