Old-Time Radio Shows

The Senior Seminar this week was about Old-Time Radio Shows. The lecturer was the same man who has done the programs on ragtime and jazz. He must have an enormous collection of CDs and DVDs of these musical programs and now the radio shows. He’s always well prepared. It amuses me, though, to watch him as he plays a CD or DVD. He twists the button of his shirt, the one right on top of his tummy. I doubt he even knows he’s doing it.

He played excerpts from three shows for us. One was “The Shadow” which I’ve heard of but had never heard. The other two shows were totally unknown to me. As I watched the other seminar participants who were smiling and nodding as they listened, I came to the conclusion I’m too young to know these programs. The lecturer said most of them were on the air in 1938 which was before I was even a gleam in my father’s eye. No wonder I didn’t know them.

One of our local radio stations plays some of the old-time shows on Saturday or Sunday night after midnight. I occasionally hear a bit of it if I’m up especially late. I like those old shows.

Do you ever listen to old-time radio shows? Do you prefer comedies or mysteries? How old does a show have to be to be considered “old time radio?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Old-Time Radio Shows

  1. ray says:

    I sometimes think I’m reincarnated from the the 30s. I love all that went into making those times, the big band music, the radio as entertainment, the literature, the movies, the clothes. I love that most men, no matter what their station in life, wore a tie or a hat. I love the ease of urban living during that time. It must have been hell though, living during the depression.

    Garrison Keillor probably comes close to the way radio sounded back then. The recordings sound poor, but I bet the broadcasts were clear back then. I like radio drama and comedy. There’s very little opportunity to listen to it now, but I think you can find a lot of it on the internet. I like the Orson Welles dramas, not just war of the worlds but many of the mysteries from the late 30s or mid 40s. I don’t care so much for serials like the Shadow or Lone Ranger.

  2. Susie says:

    I’m not sure how old the radio shows have to be to qualify as “old,” but I loved listening to the Cisco Kid when I was a child. I think that one was my favorite.

  3. diann says:

    We listen to old radio shows just about every night over the Internet! http://www.radiospirits.com plays 2 different radio shows daily – comedies, mysteries, dramas – and others are available to purchase.

  4. fillyjonk says:

    One of the stations in the town where I used to live would do “revivals” of the old shows and serials. I particularly liked Lux Radio Theater. And I loved the episodes of the Jack Benny Show that I heard, I really like Jack Benny.

  5. Lifesastitch says:

    We don’t have TV but listen to lots of radio, mostly Canadian public radio. Not many old time shows, but still an old fashioned form of entertainment, which I love.

Leave a Reply

