Digital Magazines

What do you think about digital magazines? I receive digital newsletters from several publications. One, in particular, I subscribe to in its paper format.

The magazines have gone to a digital format as well as the paper one. Each newsletter encourages subscribers to switch to the digital format. I haven’t done that because I don’t think I’d like it.

I like being able to page through a publication, clip the articles/patterns/recipes that I’m most interested in and either save the magazine for my own reference or donate it to the used book bookshop at the library for sale. Some magazines I keep to use with the reading students I tutor.

I don’t want to spend more hours staring at a computer screen. I much prefer to curl up in a comfy chair with a glass of iced tea and a paper magazine. How about you? Which format do you prefer?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Digital Magazines

  1. fillyjonk says:

    Personally, I tend to prefer “real” magazines; I prefer a paper format I can page through. I like being able to tear out recipes I want to try, or keep a stack of magazines next to my chair to flip through when I’m bored.

    I also really enjoy opening up the mailbox and finding a new issue waiting for me.

    Digital magazines can be very nice but they are just not the same.

  2. Susie says:

    I concur–there’s just something so cozy about curling up with a magazine. Reading it at the computer is so different.

  3. ray says:

    digital editions of paper items help position these publications for reading on hand-held devices like Nook or Kindle. I personally would love to read a magazine or newspaper or any other paper publication on a reasonable handheld device. My only concern is that I want a true magazine, ie something with articles and ads and everything, not a stripped down version of what is found in print. I hope it happens. What publications do you read in digital format?

Leave a Reply

