Disturbing News If True

As I mentioned in a previous post, I read a copy of the student newspaper while waiting for a concert to start. One of the articles in there was disturbing to me.

According to the writer, all the countries involved in the United Nations will be forced to take part in universal food and supplement standards on December 31, 2009. These standards will require every dairy cow in the world be injected with BST. Vitamins and minerals will be regulated with many being prohibited.

The article references an emergency conference in 2005 which discussed the disastrous consequences of such action. Why haven’t we heard about this before now? You would think if it was an emergency situation in 2005, it would have received publicity. But this is the only place where I’ve seen this mentioned.

I wonder how the student who wrote the article found out about this.  Have any of you heard or read anything about this?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disturbing News If True

  1. fillyjonk says:

    I have not heard anything about that. I do not think it is true. I do know that campus newspapers often have writers who have a fairly tenuous understanding of what is true.

    I’m not even quite sure what they mean by BST – the only abbreviation I know of that is British Summer Time, which is like their Daylight Saving Time. Did the writer mean rBGH? If so, I can’t see how there could be requirements that cattle be injected with it; in many countries it is illegal at the moment.

    A quick Google search fails to turn up anything. And the Internet being the wild-west sort of place it is, I think if this were coming, there’d be people both shouting it down and promoting it.

    (Is the university newspaper online? I’d like to read the article to see if I can make head or tails of it. I do follow a bit of the health/dietary/rBGH news because I teach about it in my general bio class.)

  2. fillyjonk says:

    I think maybe the “supplements will be banned” comes from concerns about the UK; apparently new dietary-supplement laws are coming there.

    I really can’t see it happening here; the whole “nutritional” industry is too huge and probably has too good of lobbyists.

Leave a Reply

