Wiley Mouse

I found evidence in my kitchen that a mouse had moved in. Needless to say, I don’t want a mouse as a housemate so when I was shopping the other day, I picked up some mouse traps. I didn’t go for any of the newer styles but picked the tried and true wooden trap with the wire that breaks the mouse’s neck when it snaps down on it as the mouse eats the bait you’ve put on the trap.

This mouse now living in my house is one wiley creature. I baited the trap with peanut butter. After going to bed, I heard a noise in the kitchen and thought, “Oh, that’s the trap. I’ve caught the mouse.” Imagine how I felt the next morning when I discovered this creature had managed to eat the peanut butter without tripping the trap.

How do you rid yourself of such a creature? I’ve rebaited the trap and will see if I can catch it this time.  I don’t care how wiley he is, I don’t want a mouse for a housemate.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wiley Mouse

  1. Susie says:

    Glue traps worked best for us. At one time we must have had clans of mice living in our old house in the midwest. We eventually caught all of them, and were not bothered again.

  2. fillyjonk says:

    I have found that mice seem to have learned how to defeat snap traps.

    I hate to admit it, but I’ve put out poison when I had a problem and that eliminated it. I know it’s not a very humane way for a mouse to die, but….

Leave a Reply

