Fashion Ponderings

All the fashion columns in the newspaper and magazines are touting what’s new this fall. Frankly, I don’t see much that appeals to me. That’s a good thing, I suppose, since I don’t have the budget to redo my wardrobe and I have closets full of good serviceable things to wear. Some of them are even pretty.

But in thinking about clothes, I got to pondering how often I see anyone wearing the same thing I’m wearing. I did see a woman at church last week wearing a skirt that looked very similar to my new one but I wasn’t close enough to see if it was exactly the same. However, it’s a rare thing to find someone wearing “my” outfit.

Think about that. Manufacturers have to make multiple garments in the same style and fabric. You check the racks at the stores and there’s the garment you’re interested in, hanging there in six different sizes, maybe in three different colors.  Yet how often do you see anyone else wearing it?

Don’t you think that’s a bit of a mystery?  Who buys those other sizes?  Where do they wear it?

This entry was posted in fashion, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fashion Ponderings

  1. fillyjonk says:

    I tend to do most of my clothes-shopping either when I am up visiting my parents (where there are different stores), or I mail-order stuff from more “unusual” catalogs (Deva Lifewear is one I like). I think that may be why I don’t often see people with the same things as I have.

    But once in a while – I have the same dress as one one woman I go to church with does, and I have an outfit in the same style but different fabric from another.

  2. fillyjonk says:

    Nice new design, by the way.

  3. Carole says:

    I really like the new ‘fashion’ look of your page. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

