Out of Frustration Old Skill Renewed

Shopping for clothes has been a real frustration for me. I’m a larger size and it seems most stores believe that all people my size want to wear are pants. That’s not true! In fact, I don’t wear pants or slacks at all … ever. I wear skirts and dresses.

Because I haven’t been able to find any skirts this summer, I decided to sew some. Years ago I made almost all my clothes. Years ago I was a smaller size and easier to fit but since I can’t find ready-made things to buy, what choice do I have?

I’ve purchased several pieces of fabric, enough for two blouses, two skirts, and a dress. This week saw me start the first sewing project. So far, I’ve cut out one blouse and yesterday I started sewing it.

How gratifying it was to discover I still remember how to do this! I was especially pleased that I remembered how to do one alteration my mother taught me to make the armholes fit better. The blouse isn’t completed yet but so far I’m pleased with it. It encourages me to think I will be able to accomplish my other sewing projects as well.

At church last night I got in a conversation with the woman who sits in front of me. She mentioned another lady who has started to sew again and that she, too, is thinking about stitching up some things because none of us want to wear the “maternity” style blouses which seem to be all you can find in stores.

Our problem is going to be finding nice fabric. There aren’t very many stores which handle sewing fabric any more. There are two within reasonable driving distance for me so I hope they stay in business. I’ll do what I can to help them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out of Frustration Old Skill Renewed

  1. Adrienne says:

    My daughter and I have the same trouble trying to find decent fabric – where have all the stores gone? The Mills here in the USA? Overseas and down the commode! We even bought some nice sheets from thrift stores for skirts and petticoats. And zippers- pricey!
    Keep up the good work! God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

