What Time is Bedtime?

I’ve been wondering about bedtimes lately. I’ve been noticing the houses in my subdivision which still have lights on when I come home in the evening. I’m usually coming home some time between 9 and 11, depending on where I’ve been. When it’s the later time, I’m not surprised to see dark houses. But when I don’t see lights on at 9 p.m. I wonder about the people who live there.

Do they have a family room in the basement where they’re watching television? Do they have a job which calls for a very early departure in the morning so they have a corresponding early bedtime? Maybe there are small children in the family so everyone goes to bed early.

I had a knitting class Tuesday night that included an 8-year-old. Her younger brother came along to watch. I really think the class was too long for her. She gets bored and demands more attention from me than she really needs or else she asks her mother who is also taking the class.

Little brother got bored and took off wandering around in the store. Mom paid no attention to him but every once in a while, Big Sister would ask where he was. Class was scheduled to end at 8:30 p.m. and I thought it was time those two went home and to bed. After all, they should have school tomorrow. I noticed Mom was off looking at something and the two kids were running and wrestling in the store aisle. They had plenty of energy so I would imagine getting them settled in bed would be a chore.

Do you have a set bedtime?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Time is Bedtime?

  1. Mary Ann Powell says:

    We go to bed at 8:00 every night and get up at 3:45 a/m every morning. At least Art gets up at that time EVERY morning. I sleep in on Saturday and Sunday until 5 or 6. Monday through Friday Art leaves for work at 6, but he still gets up at 3:45 on the week-end. I don’t get it.

  2. fillyjonk says:

    I get up most weekday mornings at 4:30 to exercise, so I try to be in bed by 8:30 or so – I will read for a while before going to sleep. But it’s rare that I have lights on after 9:30 pm.

    On the weekends I do sleep in a bit later (like until 6 am) but I still tend to go to bed fairly early. I am often awake in the night because the street I live on tends to be noisy and things wake me up.

Leave a Reply

